Tasty Tuesdays – Homemade Lemonade

Yes, I know, I know. I’m a day late again. Sorry.

So. LEMONADE! My favouritest of favourite drinks, and until recently I still bought this in a 2L plastic bottle. (It was shocking when I finally stepped back and realized just how many fizzy drinks we bought, especially over the weekends.) We still have empty plastic bottles, and they are now being used as plant holders, we’ve already made these self-watering plant holders, and I plan on doing this too.

Now, besides the environmental issues related to plastic bottles (marine debris issues are a huge concern. Ever heard of 5Gyres? The Great Pacific Garbage Patch?) it’s also not healthy. The two additives most commonly used for plastic bottles, are Bisphenol A (known as BPA; makes plastic hard) and Phthalates (makes plastic soft.) They are also known as endocrine disruptors and are linked to breast and prostate cancer, enlargement of the prostate, early onset of puberty, hyperactivity in children, obesity, heart disease and diabetes.

Yes… They package food and drink in that stuff..

Lemonade is super easy to make, it has a lot of sugar though. So health-wise, no comment. As for the waste factor, lemons can be bought loose at most markets or stores and sugar is available in paper bag packaging.

I found a recipe with proper measurements, but these days I just guess and go according to taste… It really is that simple.

DSC_0014_1

Recipe Ingredients:

  • 1 3/4 cups sugar
  • 8 glasses water
  • 1 1/2 cups lemon juice.

My version? 2 L water, small amount of hot water, lemon juice and sugar to taste.

I’ll start of by pouring about half of the lemon juice in mug, add some sugar and hot water. Mix until sugar is dissolved. Then add the rest of the water, not all the way to the top, and add the additional lemon juice and water to taste.

That’s it. Done.

Let me know what you think!

 

 

Leave a Reply

