Tasty Tuesdays – Lebanese Eggplant With Tomatoes & Chickpeas (Moussaka’s Menazzaleh)

Wow, that’s a mouthful!

Sorry I’ve been away from my blog for so long. Almost a week. I’ve drawn up a writing schedule, for this site and all the other sites I’m neglecting. I shall stick to my schedule. Promise.

This is BY FAR the yummiest vegan dinner I’ve ever made. So simple, yet so awesome. Sadly, I didn’t take any photo’s this time around. Next time. Here’s one I found from google, via:

dsc_6548

Now, I’ve found various version of this online. There appear to be lentils in this image? Or is that rice? Anyway, this is what I did, with what I had:

Ingredients:

  • 2 Eggplants
  • Olive Oil
  • Salt
  • 3 Cloves Garlic. (All the recipes said crushed garlic, but I sliced it very finely. I like finely sliced garlic. I do not care for crushed garlic… I also probably used more like 7 cloves, than 3…)
  • 3 Large tomatoes, chopped (I used 5 small ones) (Also, the recipe called for skinned and chopped tomatoes. Who has time to skin tomatoes, eh?)
  • 2 Teaspoons sugar
  • Freshly ground black pepper.
  • 1 to 1.5 tablespoons pomegranate molasses (Okay. Don’t know what this is, never heard of it. Google told me I could make some with Honey and Balsamic Vinegar. To keep it vegan friendly, I melted 2 tablespoons fruit jam with hot water, and added the vinegar. I think that was brilliant, but it might just be me. Feel free to experiment.)
  • 2 Tablespoons chopped parsley (I didn’t use this)
  • 1 Can Chickpeas, drained.
  • (PEOPLE!!! KEEP THE CHICKPEA WATER YOU DRAIN! KEEP IT IN THE FRIDGE OR FREEZE IT, BUT KEEP IF FOR THE LOVE OF ALL THAT IS GOOD AND HOLY!!! It’s called Aquafaba (Aqua = Water, Faba = Beans) and it’s a friggen miracle ingredient, I tell you, A MIRACLE!! More about that later. Or Google it.)

Instructions:

  1. Cut the eggplants in half lengthwise and then cut into 1 cm slices. (Peel them first…) Brush the slices with olive oil, sprinkle lightly with salt and cook under the broiler for 15 minutes. (I just very gently fried them in a frying pan. No extra oil added because they were already coated in oil.) No need to cook them through as they will be stewed in sauce.
    • This wasn’t mentioned in the recipe, but previous experience taught me to poke eggplant slices with a fork before sprinkling the salt, and then leave them like that for 10 min or so. You’ll see little drops forming on them. Doing that, helps, somehow. Not sure how. I think it prevents them from being too soggy. Or something. Just do it. Trust me on this.
  2. Meanwhile, in a large sauce pan, heat the garlic (sliced or crushed) in olive oil, just until it begins to colour. Then add the chopped tomatoes and mash them slightly. (The recipe called for the smashing, I dunno why.)
  3. Add the sugar, salt, pepper and cook for about 15 minutes. Then add the pomegranate molasses (or my clever fruit jam and vinegar mix,) add the eggplants and the chickpeas, and simmer for another 20 to 30 minutes. Or, until eggplants are soft, but not falling apart.
  4. This serves about 4. (Or 2, it was really yummy)
  5. I served this with brown rice (Courtesy of FitChef. If was the last of the plastic-packaged pre-cooked meals I had in the freezer)

(I should probably not use parentheses so much, right?)

(Lol.)

Hope you enjoy! I’ll add more photo’s next time.

Leave a Reply

